About

strokar

 

STROKAR is a non-profit association founded in March 2016 by Alexandra Lambert – CEO of Mad Brussels, fashion and design platform, and Fred Atax, director and photojournalist for 20 years.

In 10 years, urban art has become a movement recognised by the contemporary art market. Brussels has recently taken the lead, as attests a recent New York Times article, citing it as the international platform of contemporary art. Our cosmopolitan world capital has taken an innovative position. It is, therefore, surprising that Brussels doesn’t yet have a referential Hub for street art; a space not simply a museum but that represents the most innovative and energetic artistic movements of the 21st century! Our ambition is to create an international platform attesting to the global street art ecosystem and so-called ‘urban’ art. A platform that means Brussels can distinguish itself, more than ever, as an interconnected city in the Industry 4.0 era. 

The VALUES that guide us are:
Excellence, Non-conformism, Passion, Engagement.

our mission

We believe street artists make an important contribution to an innovative, progressive society. Their works often deal with the major issues of our time. Strokar is a non-profit association that encourages this engagement, which aims to capture a public interested in the artists it represents by facilitating connections between cultures and people. Its programmes consist of developing unique, original, collaborative works of art with urban and visual artists, as well as with creators and designers from around the world whose common theme is street art and graffiti. STROKAR’s activities, at its hub in Brussels, include exhibitions, a gallery, public events, performances, a street supermarket, a bazaar, residences and educational activities. With a highly active online network, we aim to instigate exciting exchanges about street art and graffiti, as well as about the nonconformist ideas this movement spreads in society.

THE STROKAR INSIDE PROJECT

 STROKAR INSIDE is an international platform of urban art transformed into a “Supermarket version 4.0” for street art and a large workshop-laboratory of urban arts in the space of the old, mythical Delhaize at the Chaussée de Waterloo in the heart of the Molière district. We want to create a unique site in Europe, a brand new space that will attract top international street art legends, in partnership with Belgian street artists; helping us to sensitise the general public to the beauty of this discipline.

 So, we are investing in an old supermarket with a surface area of about 5000 M2 situated at the heart of the Capital of Europe, Brussels, in one of its hippest districts. We will develop a total concept combining a museum, a gallery, a bar area, a shop, solo art exhibitions, a skate park, an art bazaar, shows, a fresco walk, film and documentary projections, events and performances, all based around international street art and graffiti.

 It will be open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday (11 a.m. – 18  p.m. / 22 p.m Bar) and can also be rented for private or corporate events.

à propos

strokar

 

STROKAR est une association non lucrative fondée en mars 2016, par Alexandra Lambert– CEO de Mad Brussels, fashion and design Platform, et Fred Atax, réalisateur et photo-reporter durant 20 ans.

En 10 ans, l’art urbain est devenu un courant artistique reconnu par le marché de l’art contemporain. Bruxelles s’est imposée ces dernières années, comme l’attestait encore un récent article du NYTimes comme la plate-forme internationale de l’art contemporain. Notre capitale mondiale cosmopolite s’est positionnée sur des enjeux novateurs. Il est cependant étonnant que Bruxelles ne dispose pas encore d’un Hub référentiel pour le street-art, d’un espace qui ne soit pas seulement muséal mais qui incarne l’énergie, les courants les plus innovants du 21eme siècle en matière artistique! Constituer une plateforme internationale qui atteste de l’éco-système global du street art et de l’art dit urbain est notre ambition. Une plateforme qui permettra à Bruxelles de se distinguer plus que jamais comme une ville interconnectée à l’ère du 4.0.

Les VALEURS qui nous animent sont:
l’Excellence, l’Anticonformisme, la Passion, l’Engagement.

notre mission

Nous pensons que les street artistes contribuent de manière importante à une société innovante et tournée vers le progrès, leurs oeuvres s’accaparant souvent de sujets majeurs de notre temps. Strokar est une association non lucrative qui encourage cet engagement qui vise à accroître le public s’intéressant aux artistes représentés dans son label, en facilitant les connections entre les cultures et les gens. Ses programmes consistent à développer des oeuvres collaboratives uniques et originales avec des artistes urbains, visuels, ou encore des créateurs et designers du monde entier dont le street art et le graffiti sont le fil conducteur. Les activités de STROKAR au sein de son hub à Bruxelles incluent des expositions, une galerie, des événements publics, des performances, un street supermarket, une foire, des résidences et des activités éducatives. Avec un réseau en ligne ultra actif, nous visons la création d’échanges vibrants autour du street art du graffiti, ainsi qu’autour des idées anticonformistes que ce mouvement répand dans la société. 

LE projet
strokar inside

STROKAR INSIDE, c’est une plateforme internationale des arts urbains transformée en « supermarché version 4.0 » du street art et grand atelier-laboratoire des arts urbains dans la superficie de l’ancien mythique Delhaize de la chaussée de Waterloo au sein du quartier Molière. Nous voulons créer un lieu unique en Europe dans un espace inédit qui soit attractif pour y faire venir les plus grandes légendes internationales du street art, en y associant les street artistes belges et nous permettre de sensibiliser le grand public à la beauté de cette discipline.  

Nous investissons donc un ancien supermarché sur une superficie d’environ 5000 M2, situé au coeur de la Capitale de l’Europe, Bruxelles, dans l’un de ses quartiers les plus huppés, pour y développer un concept total combinant un musée, une galerie, un espace bar, un shop, des solo shows d’artistes, un skate park, une foire d’art, des expositions, un parcours de fresques,des projections de films et documentaires, des happenings et performances autour du street art et du graffiti à un niveau international.  

Le lieu sera ouvert du mercredi au dimanche (11h – 18H30 / 22h : bar) pour le grand public et sera en parallèle louable pour l’organisation d’événements corporate ou privés.